The Education Foundation of Yuma County is a private, non-profit organization established to support and recognize the profession of teaching and raise public awareness of the importance and value of education.

Resources are directed to projects that are consistent with this purpose and that enhance public support of education. The Foundation is composed totally of volunteers from business and education sectors.


The 2021  Teacher of the Year Kick-off Dinner honoring all TOY nominees from Yuma County Schools along with each school's outstanding First Year Teacher will not be held in its normal format this year.  On March 7, a 2-page spread will appear in The Sun listing every nominee and the nominee's school and every First Year Teacher honoree and her/his school affiliation.  All nominees and First Year Teachers will receive via email a Door Dash gift card for $20.00 since we are unable to gather at our annual Teacher of the Year Kick-off Dinner to celebrate their nominations and honors.

The 2021 Teacher of the Year Banquet will be a 'blended' event at 7 p.m. on Tuesday, April 20, 2021.  The event will be broadcast to the public on the Ed Foundation's YouTube channel and Facebook Live with all the finalists for the following categories on-site in Arizona Western College's Conference Center in the 3C Building:

  • Primary (PreK-3) Category
  • Intermediate/Special Area (4-6) Category
  • Junior High/Middle School Category
  • High School Category
  • College/University Category


Recognize and honor professional educators who have made lasting contributions to education in Yuma County.

Recognize Yuma County residents or organizations who have made outstanding contributions to education in Yuma County.

Recognize individuals who attend Yuma County schools for outstanding accomplishments or contributions to society.

Preserve and showcase the history of education in Yuma County.

Increase public awareness of the impact education has on daily lives.




Our Sponsors:

Rotary Clubs of Yuma County
FRIEND of the Foundation: Anne V. Fisher